K-State junior defensive back D.J. Reed was one of 45 players acorss the nation to be named to the watch list for the 2017 Jim Thorpe Award, given annually to the nation’s top defensive back. The Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame announced the watch list on Friday.
Reed has also been named to the Bednarik Award and Nagurski Trophy watch lists. Both awards honor the best defensive player in a particular college football season. Reed joins West Virginia’s Dravon Askew-Henry as one of only two Big 12 players to be named to all three lists.
In 2016, Reed led the Big 12, and tied for fifth nationally, with 19 passes defensed. He also grabbed three interceptions. Reed also tied for second on his team with 75 tackles, earning Big 12 Defensive Newcomer of the Year for his efforts. Reed was also named First Team All-Big 12 in 2016. 
Reed notched a pass breakup or interception in 10 of his 13 games last season. He recorded a season-high foulr deflections at Baylor and another three in the next game against Kansas. 
Reed is one of seven Wildcats to be named to National College Football Awards Association watch lists. Senior quarterback Jesse Ertz was named to the Maxwell Award watch list, given to the player of the year in a particular college football season. Senior defensive tackle Will Geary was named to the Bronko Nagurski Trophy and Outland Trophy watch lists. The Outland Trophy is awarded to the top interior lineman in a college football season. Senior offensive lineman Reid Najvar was named to the Rimington Trophy watch list, given to the top center in a college football season. Junior offensive lineman Dalton Risner was named to the Outland Trophy watch list. Junior tight end Dayton Valentine was named to the Mackey Award watch list, given to the top tight end in a college football season. Sophomore defensive end Reggie Walker was named to the Bronko Nagurski Trophy watch list.
Reed, Ertz, Risner, senior linebacker Trent Tanking, and Valentine will join head coach Bill Snyder in Frisco, Texas, for Big 12 Media Days next Tuesdayand Wednesday. The event will be televised from 9 a.m. (CT) to 1 p.m. (CT) on FS2, Fox Sports Midwest, and Fox Sports Kansas City. 

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.